The SOLEIF Awards

Liberty & Heritage

Since 2001, The Statue of Liberty-Ellis Island Foundation has celebrated individuals who embrace the best of what these two American treasures represent: the unique tapestry woven from the stories of our nation’s immigration history, and the role of America and its citizens in championing the ongoing global struggle for liberty and freedom.

The Statue of Liberty-Ellis Island Awards (formerly the Family Heritage Awards) honorees represent a broad spectrum of professions and interests from arts and sciences to business and culture.

Explore the list of recipients and visit the Foundation’s YouTube page to view some of the acceptance remarks.

2024 Honorees

Carmine Di Sibio
Clara Wu Tsai

2023 Honorees

Clive Davis
Agnes Hsu-Tang
David H. Long

2022 Honorees

Tony & Gail Alvarez
Miguel (Mike) Bezos

2019 Honoree

Oprah Winfrey
(inaugural recipient of The Statue of Liberty-Ellis Island Award)

2017 Honorees

Kareem Abdul-Jabbar
The Tisch Family
Robin Roberts

2016 Honorees

F. Murray Abraham
Billie Jean King
Daniel Libeskind
Gregory Annenberg Weingarten

2015 Honorees

Henry Louis Gates, Jr.
Patti LuPone
Diane von Furstenberg

2012 Honorees

Angela Lansbury
Anthony “Tony” La Russa, Jr.
Richard Meier

2011 Honorees

Lee A. Iacocca
Sen. George J. Mitchell
Martina Navratilova
Joe Torre

2010 Honorees

Andrea Jung
Dikembe Mutombo
Peter G. Peterson
Bruce Springsteen

2009 Honorees

Gloria and Emilio Estefan
Dr. Eric R. Kandel
Joe Namath
Jerry Seinfeld

2008 Honorees

Mel Brooks
Mary Higgins Clark
The Forbes Family
Donna E. Shalala

2007 Honorees

Mike Krzyzewski
John J. Mack
Josie Natori
William D. Novelli

2006 Honorees

Dr. Madeleine K. Albright
Tommy Lasorda
Shelly Lazarus
Frank McCourt

2005 Honorees

Christo & Jeanne-Claude
Murry Gell-Mann, Ph.D.
Robert Mondavi
Astronaut Scott Parazynski, M.D.
General Colin L. Powell, USA (Ret)

2004 Honorees

I.M. Pei
Robert Rubin
Martin Scorsese
Paul Tagliabue
Dr. Harold Varmus

2003 Honorees

Abie Abraham
Yogi Berra
Dr. Anthony Fauci
Bob Hope
Cicely Tyson

2001 Honorees

Irving Berlin
Marinus DeNooyer
Seymour Rexsite
Felicita Salto